Nilsen Literary Prize for a First Novel                       Wilda Hearne Flash Fiction Contest

Vern Cowles Poetry Chapbook Prize                          Mighty River Short Story Contest


2012 Mighty River Short Story Contest Winner and Finalists

     Winner: Jessica Weatherford, Texas "Lure"

Finalists: Cynthia Kraack, Minnesota "Garbage Boy"
         Heather Sappenfield, Colorado  "Klan"
                                Lynn L. Sloan, Illinois  "In the Lair of the Plutocrats"

2012 Mighty River Short Story Contest

Now Accepting Submissions

Deadline: October 1, 2013


About the contest:


We're searching for the best short story of any theme.

Semi-finalists will be chosen by a regional team of published writers. The final manuscript will be chosen by Susan Swartwout, publisher of Southeast Missouri State University Press.


Winner receives an award of $500 and publication in Big Muddy: A Journal of the Mississippi River Valley.


Winner will be announced January, 2013.


  Visit the Big Muddy homepage




  Work must not be previously published.


  Send maximum of 30 double-spaced pages, with no identifying name on the pages, and a separate cover sheet with story title, author's name, address, and phone number.


  No e-submissions are accepted.


  Send SASE for notification of results; all manuscripts will be recycled.


  $15 reading fee includes a copy of the issue of Big Muddy in which the winning story appears.



Mail manuscripts to:


MRSS Contest
Southeast Missouri State University Press
One University Plaza, MS 2650
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701