Nilsen Literary Prize for a First Novel        Vern Cowles Poetry Chapbook Prize        Wilda Hearne Flash Fiction Contest       

Mighty River Short Story Contest        Past Contest Winners

2013 Vern Cowles Prize for a Trinity of Poems

*For 2014 , the Vern Cowles Prize will be for a chapbook (formerly Copperdome Chapbook). For more information on the new Chapbook contest: Vern Cowles/Copperdome Poetry Chapbook Prize. For more information on the Copperdome Chapbook Contest: Copperdome.

Deadline: April 1, 2013.
Fee: $20 check/money order/cash, made payable to Southeast Missouri State University Press, must accompany each entry. Fee includes a copy of the issue of The Cape Rock in which the winning poems appear.
Award: $1,000 and featured publication in The Cape Rock poetry journal, now celebrating its 48th year of publication.

Submission Guidelines:


Mail entries with $20 reading fee to:
Southeast Missouri State University Press
Vern Cowles Prize
One University Plaza, MS 2650
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701

Winner will be announced September, 2013.